Today is that Day.

Go to this scene in your mind for a moment.  A woman has become a social outcast, lost all her friends, and all her financial security, she has had an illness, for a very long time.  No one can or could help her. In fact she has no  money to pay any more  doctors, that in itself could have made her feel cheated I would imagine. All that money spent but no cure. What can she do. Imagine losing everything and yet you are still sick, still stranded, still in trouble, still without, still alone, still struggling.  What Then.

Lets go to the story, we pick it up in Luke 8:40-47. NIV

40Now when Jesus returned, a crowd welcomed him, for they were all expecting him. 41Then a man named Jairus, a ruler of the synagogue, came and fell at Jesus’ feet, pleading with him to come to his house 42because his only daughter, a girl of about twelve, was dying.

As Jesus was on his way, the crowds almost crushed him. 43And a woman was there who had been subject to bleeding for twelve years,d but no one could heal her. 44She came up behind him and touched the edge of his cloak, and immediately her bleeding stopped.

45“Who touched me?” Jesus asked.

When they all denied it, Peter said, “Master, the people are crowding and pressing against you.”

46But Jesus said, “Someone touched me; I know that power has gone out from me.”

47Then the woman, seeing that she could not go unnoticed, came trembling and fell at his feet. In the presence of all the people, she told why she had touched him and how she had been instantly healed. 48Then he said to her, “Daughter, your faith has healed you. Go in peace.”

This is one of the most exciting stories for me in the bible, because Jesus simply said to her, YOUR FAITH has made you well.

If you are anything like me, you have prayed many prayers, some answered and some not answered and some still to be answered.  I remember being in a challenging situation with one of my family I prayed God would intervene. He did not instead He told me, be nice.  I could have screamed but I knew better than that. He showed me, we do not change anyone He does.  So I swallowed my pride and like someone aptly put it, ‘when u swallow your pride it will not kill you, it’s not poison’….Yeah right it sure felt like poison, for it killed my ego.

I have discovered in my journey of faith, God is always right!!!!!Duh, yes He is. He gives us life instructions to help us, to make the journey of life to be one of intrigue and discovery of new lands, new perspectives, new ways of doing things, new ways of living that do not have to be as stressful.  He encourages us to rest, in Him.

Resting in Him and His promises requires taking a leap of faith, trusting HIS JUDGEMENT, and how HE SOLVES challenges that we face. Note in the story, Jesus did not say, how come you have been ill for this long, He dealt with her situation RIGHT here, right now.  This then means, we do not have to suffer with something for so long before we ask for help.  This story also shows how when you want something to be done for you now, you WILL overcome any OBSTACLE to get what you need. Remember God can DO ANYTHING. Here are the obstacles this woman overcame to get what she wanted.

1. Being a woman. In her time, women were second class citizens.

2. Another religious leader wanted Jesus’ attention, his only child was dying.

3. Crowds were already waiting for him.

4. Social outcast, bleeding issues, loss of social status.

5. Loss of financial security.

6. Bitterness and inferiority complex

7. Discouragement and  Despair  A 12 year problem.  Imagine for a moment if she had given up hope in this 12th year and sat at home in depression. Depression makes you inactive not willing to seek help, therefore to keep active is a simple means of fighting depression anytime. Jesus asked an earth shattering question. When He returns will He find faith in the earth? A question each of us must answer, will He find you and me in Faith, or will we die in faith if he has not yet returned? Seems to me faith is like air cannot live without it.

This woman had so much against her, you too may have so much against you, most of which you can do nothing about because of your environment,  cultural background, bank balance, level of education, others seem faster than you,  and so much more. What do you do, if it seems there is no hope?

As you look into the story, you can probably find more.  She decided I have lost so much, I have nothing left to lose, my reputation is in the dumps anyway, can I lose anymore by getting myself close to Jesus?  She must have heard about Him and the miracles He had already performed. She must have known there will be crowds around Him and perhaps impossible to get to Him. No problem, if I can just touch the Hem of His garment, I will be completely cured TODAY.

Life has a way of presenting problems to stop us from living in  the life of our dreams. Remember Jesus came to set the captives free. The sin nature has hurt all of us, having all been born in sin.  However in Christ, a new lifestyle emerges, one of total freedom. He does not do a half job. He says you are completely FREE.  It now becomes your part and mine to finish our journey in Christ stronger than when we started. All He tells us is LIVE BY FAITH.

There’s that word again. This woman got her healing by HER FAITH. I amplified this because  I was shocked to discover that even praying in itself is useless if it’s not mixed with faith. When you pray, you must believe that if you ask anything according to HIS WILL He does hear us.  Discover God’s will for your life through the pages of the bible, ask in prayer for God to reveal HIMSELF to you.  Do not wait another day to find out, God’s will for your life, no more waiting. Be blessed in your intriguing journey of discovery. Above all pray the will of God, like this Father my bible tells me that it is your will, for me to…complete according to your want. God is moved by your faith not your need.  There’s a time to be silent, a time to be quiet about what you want, but that is not today.

Jesus put it this way.  When you pray, not IF you pray, but amplified WHEN you pray in MATH 6:6 NIV

But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.

Finally you may not need this kind of miracle in your personal life, but you have picked out, there are obstacles I must overcome to live the life of my dreams, and it does not come or appear overnight, you know that.  Look out for my  new page Winning in spite of obstacles and  mountains.

Leave a Reply

